Vienna

Hello, my friends!

First of all – Ginny, Chelsea is alive. She wants me to pass that on and apparently letting hundreds of people read it on this blog is more effective than a personal message from her to you. So, she is very much alive and we love Vienna. The city was beautiful – the weather was more mild than my previous week in Italy, which was a welcome change. It was also just so clean, people were well dressed, and the buildings were all painted in pretty whites and creams and looked lovely against the blue skies we got to enjoy.

On the plane ride from Rome, I got placed in a row with two other Canadians from Ottawa. They were charming fellas (sup dudes), so we chit chatted during the flight and exchanged details so we could hang out again in Vienna. When we got to the airport Chelsea was very cute and sleepy. We made our way to the hostel, which was decently nice, and went straight to our beds to relax for a couple hours. That night, Chels went to bed at about 7:30 and I met up with a couple guys from school (yo yo yo) who also happened to be in the city. We went to a film festival in the park to enjoy a few drinks.

Sunday morning we met up with the Ottawa lads for a walk around the historic city centre area, then to the river (the same one which runs through Budapest!) to sit for a while and take in the view. Chels tried to push me in and steal my identity. It worked. Hello, I am Katy. I do medicine.

We also took a trip to the palace and surrounding gardens, and they were SO pretty! If you ever go to Vienna, go to the palace and walk around for at least an hour. There are so many hidden spots. We asked an older Chinese lady to take our picture and she said no. There was a big hill behind the palace that we climbed up to see a gorgeous view of the city. Chels had to slink around in the shadows to avoid the sun, but I think she liked it too.

That evening we just hung out around the hostel playing card/drinking games with some other travellers, because things are mostly closed on Sundays. It was a good way to make some friends 🙂

See you in Prague!

IMG_3771

IMG_3772

IMG_3781

IMG_3790

IMG_3809

2 comments

  1. What an adventure for you and Chelsea!! And I’m just amazed at the young people all just meandering around Europe! Such a great experience! Thanks Katy for keeping me informed 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment